What do we know about Libya’s new Cabinet?


On Tuesday, Prime Minister-designate of Libya’s Government of National Unity (GNU), Abdel-Hamid Dbaiba announced his cabinet lineup. It consists of 26 ministries, six state ministers, and two deputy PMs.

Dbaiba is yet to name a defence minister, saying that they would be named “after getting the approval on the rest of the ministerial portfolios.”

This came during his speech before the Libyan Parliament, in its special vote session held in Sirte to discuss granting confidence to the GNU.

With regard to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the PM stated that it will be headed by a female minister after consultation with the Presidential Council.

After Dbaiba’s speech, the head of his media office, Mohamed Hamuda announced the cabinet lineup as follows:

Hussein Atiya Al-Qatrani, and Ramadan Ahmad Abu Jahnah as Deputy Prime Ministers.

Hamad Abdul Razzaq Al-Marimi, Minister of Agriculture and Livestock.

Tariq Abdel-Salam Bou-Hulaiga, Minister of Water Resources.

Abdul Shafia Hussein Mohamed, Minister of Sports.

Kamel Abrik Al-Hassi, Minister of Planning.

Ali Mohamed Al-Zanati, Minister of Health.

Mousa Mohamed Al-Maqrif, Minister of Education.

Abdel-Salam Abdullah Taki, Minister of Tourism and Handicrafts.

Khaled Tijani Mazen, Minister of Interior.

Ibrahim Al-Arabi Mounir, Minister of Environment.

Ali Al-Abed Abu Azoum, Minister of Labor and Rehabilitation.

Mabrouka Othman, Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development.

Wafaa Abu Bakr Al-Kilani, Minister of Social Affairs.

Omran Mohamed Al-Qeeb, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research.

Ahmed Ali Mohamed, Minister of Industry and Minerals.

Halima Ibrahim Abdel Rahman, Minister of Justice.

Abdel-Fatah Saleh Al-Khawja, Minister of Civil Service.

Hamad Salem Al-Shahoubi, Minister of Transportation.

Zuhair Ahmed Mahmoud, Minister of Housing and Construction.

Badr Al-Din Al-Sadiq Al-Toumi, Minister of Local Government.

Fathallah Abdullah Al-Zinni, Minister of Youth.

Omar Ali Al-Ajili, Minister of Economy and Trade.

Mohamed Ahmad Aoun, Minister of Oil and Gas.

Khaled Al-Mabrouk Abdullah, Minister of Finance.

With regard to the state ministers, they consist of:

Ahmed Faraj Abu Khuzam, Minister of State for the Displaced and Human Rights Affairs.

Walid Ammar Mohamed, Minister of State for Communication and Political Affairs.

Ijdid Matouq Ajdid, Minister of Immigration Affairs.

Adel Jumaa Amer, Minister of State for Prime Minister and Cabinet Affairs.

Houria Khalifa Miloud, Minister of State for Women’s Affairs.

Salama Ibrahim Al-Ghwail, Minister of State for Economic Affairs.

The Libyan Parliament is expected to vote on granting confidence to the government on Wednesday.


Comments are closed.