Libyan MPs Agree To Hold Unified Parliamentary Session in Ghadames


On Wednesday, members of the Libyan Parliament held an official consultative session in Tangiers. The meeting was attended by 120 MPs from Tripoli and Tobruk.

MP Saleh Fahima said that the Libyan lawmakers had agreed to designate Benghazi as the constitutional and legal headquarters of the Parliament.

He added that there was a general consensus on the importance of unifying the two parliaments together. The first session will be held in the city of Ghadames in order to reach compromises on all remaining issues.

The consultative session also agreed to form a parliamentary committee tasked with presenting the final communiqué for discussion. The committee includes eleven MPs, including: Khalifa Al-Daghari, Al-Mabrouk Al-Khattabi, Mahdi Al-Awar, Ismail Al-Sharif, Saleh Fhaima, Abu Bakr Saeed, Idris Omran, Sultana Al-Mismari, Salah Al-Sahbi and Abdul Salam Nasiya, and Sarah Al-Swaih.

Morocco is moving to extend the ongoing sessions until Saturday instead of Wednesday as scheduled, according to diplomatic sources.

Moroccan Foreign Minister Nasser Bourita explained that this meeting was a reaffirmation of the understandings reached by the Libyan-led dialogue in Bouznika. This is in relation to the unification of the sovereign positions included in Article 15 of the 2015 Libyan Political Agreement (LPA) signed in Skhirat.

“The Tangier meeting is necessary to create an enabling environment for the Libyan MPs to play their due role in the challenging tasks ahead”, Bourita noted.