Libyan Football Federation Organises Super Cup Match


The Competition Organizing Committee in the Libyan Football Federation (LFF) has set 27 May for the Libyan Super Cup, which will bring together Al-Nasr, the reigning champions of Libyan Premier League, against Al-Ittihad, the current Super Cupholder.

The LFF competitions committee has designated the Benina Martyrs Stadium in Benghazi as the host of the match at 4:30 pm. The committee has also decided to allow the participation of players, who were registered during the second registration period. This includes Miftah Taqtaq, Salem Roma, and Nigerian Samson Bossa from Al-Nasr, Mohamed El Monir, Mutassim Subu, and the Tunisian trio, Ghazi Ayadi, Shams Al-Din Al-Thawadi, and Ali Al-Omari, from the Al-Ittihad side.

Notably, the Libyan Super Cup is a football championship contested between the winners of the Libyan Premier League, and the Al-Fatih Cup. The game is played at the beginning of the season, and signals the beginning of the domestic year.

The Super Cup was a two-legged final in 1997 but became one-legged from 1998 onwards. Al-Ittihad remains the most successful club with ten wins in total, including nine consecutive titles from 2002 onwards.