UNSMIL Announces Full List of Candidates for Libya’s New Government


On Saturday evening, the United Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL) announced the full list of candidates for the Presidency Council and Prime Minister positions in Libya’s upcoming government.

In a statement, UNSMIL extended its heartfelt appreciation for the efforts of the three-person verification committee, drawn from the membership of the Libyan Political Dialogue Forum (LPDF). The committee reviewed the candidates’ applications in line with the eligibility criteria consensually agreed upon by the LPDF in Tunis.

The statement noted that all candidates pledged to respect the LPDF Roadmap with regard to the preparatory period paving the way for the holding of national elections on December 24th, 2021.

The candidates stated that should they be selected for the executive authority, they will provide the relevant oversight authorities with a declaration of their own movable and immovable assets inside and outside of Libya, as well as those of their spouses and children.

The UN mission pointed out that the candidates further pledged not to put themselves forward for elections at the end of the preparatory period and that they had signed a legally binding affidavit confirming their conformity to existing Libyan national law.

The UN mission announced that a full LPDF session will be held in Switzerland from February 1-5 to host the voting process for the new temporary unified executive.

During the course of this meeting, UNSMIL will invite all candidates for an interactive session with the LPDF members to allow the candidates the opportunity to lay out their vision on implementing the Roadmap agreed upon by the LPDF, as well as to respond to questions posed by the LPDF members.

The full list of candidates for the Presidency Council is as follows:

Idriss Suleiman Ahmed Al-Qaed
Osama Juwaili
Asaad Mohsen Zhaiou
Khaled Al-Saeeh
Khaled Ammar Al-Mishri
Salama Ibrahim Al-Ghweil
Suleiman Asweiker Awad
Al-Sharif Al-Wafi
Salahuddin Al-Namroush
Tarek Abdallah Al-Ashtar
Abdul Rahman Mohammed Abu Al-Qassem Al-Balazi
Abdul Raheem Ali Mohammed Al-Shibani
Abdullah Hussein Al-Lafi
Abdul Majeed Ghaith Seif Al-Nasr
Ageela Saleh Qwaider
Ali Abu Al-Hojob
Ali Mahmoud Bukheirallah
Omar Mahdi Aboushrida
Majida Wefti
Mohammed Al-Qammoudi Al-Hafi
Mohammed Hassan Sleiman Al-Bargathi
Mohamad Menfi
Mustafa Abdulhamid Dallaf
Mossa Al-Koni

The list of candidates for the Position of Prime Minister is as follows:

Amal Jarray
Ahmed Omar Ahmed Meitig
Osama Al-Sayd
Eman Kishir
Jamal Abu Bakr Omran Abughrein
Al-Hermein Mohammed Al-Hermein
Khaled Mohammed Abdullah Ghweil
Daou Abdullah Abu Duwaiha
Atef Miloud Al-Hassia
Abdul Hamid Mohammed Dbeibeh
Abdul Rahim Mokhtar Al-Montaser
Abdul Razak Ahmad Abdul Qadir
Othman Abdul Jaleel Mohammed
Fathallah Hussein Abdul Karim Mohammed
Fathi Ali Abdul Salam Bashagha
Fadeel Al-Amin
Mohammed Al-Ansari
Mohammed Abdul Lateef Al-Montaser
Mohammed Muin Mansour Al-Kikhia
Mouftah Hamadi
Hisham Abdullah Abu Shweikat